Economic progress is often used to measure a country's success. However, some
people believe that other factors are more important. What other factors should also
be considered when measuring a country's success? Do you think one factor is
more important than others?
The relative success of different countries is usually defined in economic terms. There are
several other factors, apart from the economy, that could be used to assess a country, and
in my opinion education is the most important of all.
Standards of education, health and individual human rights should certainly be considered
when measuring a country’s status. A good education system is vital for the development
of any nation, with schools, colleges and universities bearing the responsibility for the
quality of future generations of workers. Healthcare provision is also an indicator of the
standard of living within a country, and this can be measured by looking at average life
expectancy rates or availability of medical services. Finally, human rights and levels of
equality could be taken into account. For example, a country in which women do not have
the same opportunities as men might be considered less successful than a country with
better gender equality.
In my view, a country’s education system should be seen as the most important indicator
of its success and level of development. This is because education has a considerable
effect on the other two factors mentioned above. It affects people’s health in the sense that
doctors and nurses need to be trained, and scientists need to be educated to the highest
levels before they can carry out medical research. It also affects the economy in the sense
that a well-educated workforce will allow a variety of companies and industries to flourish,
leading to trade with other countries, and increased wealth.
In conclusion, nations can be assessed and compared in a variety of ways, but I would
argue that the standard of a country's education system is the best measure of its
success.