Are romantic movies damaging to real relationship?

There is a controversial issue about the role of romantic movies in society. Some social workers state that this type of movie destroys love affairs, while some film producers believe that this genre reinforces them. In this essay, I will consider both points of view and agree with the idea of positive effect.

Let us start with the reasons why some social workers argue that romantic movies cause a detrimental influence on love in real life. The first reason is that couples tend to compare their relationship with the ideal characters on TV. Many people unreasonably demand their halves to correspond the image of their favorite characters in TV series, but they often fail to meet their requirements, because each person differs from one another. Another reason is that many people seek tend to become idealistic about love. Many single people refuse to date those applicants, who fail to meet their expectations formed from their favorite movies about amour. Therefore, they suffer from their irrational demands, and it usually takes a long time, before they realize that real dating is contrary to that from romantic films.

However, some movie-makers say that movies about love improve romantic relationship. They justify their point of view with the following arguments. Firstly, this genre teaches people how to love each other. Many couples are prone to forget how healthy relationship looks, but with the help of this type of movie, they can recall it and breath a second life into their dying relationship. Secondly, romantic movies help inexperienced people build a lasting relationship with the opposite sex. They show, for example, young people how to avoid abusive relationship, so that they can successfully find the one, who values them for their personality rather than for their sexual attractiveness.

In conclusion, even though social workers claim that romantic movies harm love affairs in real, I think that they bring positive effects on love for the mentioned above reasons.