Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In a technology-driven world, people can work and study from home because of the advantages of technology. Some people think it is a positive development,

while others claim that it exerts devastating effects on children. I agree that it has both pros and cons.

On one hand, working and studying from home is a perfect choice for the people who have a weak immune system, and easily get diseases due to the fact that it not only protects them from catching a contagion but also protects the people around them such as colleagues, classmates or friends. Take coronavirus as an example. The virus spreads all over the world with terrifying speed and kills older and ill people. Social distancing is the way to survive through this epidemic which supports the idea of working online. Moreover, there is no doubt that technology makes things cheaper and more convenient. For example, driving to your company to work and sitting in traffic jams, wastes time and money. Now they just need to sit at the desk in front of the computer.

Sadly enough, staying at home for a long time causes lots of problems such as depression, autism and gradually damages communication skills. Research shows that 3 out of 10 adults and 5 out of 10 children who worked and studied at home more than 30 hours per week became depressed. Furthermore, the Internet, which includes lots of uncensored, pornographic and violent scenes, not only distracts children from learning but also harms their growth.

In view of what was mentioned above, obviously, working and studying online has both advantages and disadvantages but somehow the advantages win out.