Nowadays it is not only large companies that can be able to make films. Digital technology enables anyone to produce films. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In a technology-driven world, not only large companies but virtually anyone can make visual art products such as films. Some people think that it is a positive development while others believe it has negative impacts on the young. I agree that it has both pros and cons.

On one hand, producing films easily gives a significant boost to the film industry by taking advantage of technology development. The entertainment market grows quickly due to the fact that producers can create a bunch of different types of movies and videos. Artists can then post the content on social media such as Facebook, Youtube and Tik Tok that viewers can choose freely and enjoy without paying a lot of money, though, those low budget films still earn a huge amount of money and fame. “Story of Chussie” is a telling example. Although this Vietnamese short film just lasts 30 minutes, uses an amateur actor, was shot entirely with an iPhone 7, and presented as found footage from that old man, it broke the record for views and became famous. Once more movies and videos were made, a few new jobs appeared and that helps solve the unemployment problem. For instance, a freelancer who has 100,000 views on Youtube can earn at least 200 dollars per month. Moreover, for people who have tight budgets, especially young filmmakers, it is really an opportunity to develop their potential in this aspect.

Sadly enough, some movies are really low-quality and include uncensored, even sexual, pornographic and violent scenes which affect children’s and youngsters’ s behaviours. For example, a series of schoolgirls in Vietnam committed suicide after watching a weird creepy video on the internet named “The curse of Connie”.

In view of what was mentioned above, obviously, when everyone is able to produce films, it creates both advantages and disadvantages but somehow the advantages win out.