In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

The concept of nursing homes is very prevalent in modern society. In Britain, many aged people live in there where they are looked after by nurses, and sometimes, the government has to pay for this care. However, some people argue that expenses should be covered by the family. My essay is going to discuss both views of this controversial issue.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that parents who play the most important and strong part in a child’s life provide them support financially and always try their best to bestow their child the ideal life they could imagine. Thus, definitely, children should take the filial responsibility for caring for their elderly parents, as well as their parents, did in their childhood. Furthermore, only after the family pays for the care do they spend time to visit their parents frequently to see whether they are receiving good healthcare and of course, it would be a great opportunity for the old to meet all family members and share the love. In addition, it contributes to curbing the tremendous financial burden on the government so that the government can handle other necessary matters.

However, firstly, all families are not the same due to the fact that not all aged people have children or relatives. They are lonely, helpless old people who can only subsist on the governmental succour. Secondly, even if they have family, their family may be still faced with financial problems and temporarily can’t afford their healthcare cost. Moreover, authorities levied taxes on the people’s earning during their work-life so that is the reason why the government should have a fixed fund for nursing homes. Let’s take the United State as a telling example. Only by collecting monthly premium from citizens do the US government easily support their needs when they become old and sick.

In conclusion, in view of above mentioned, it seems to me that both the families and the government, respectively, should go hand in hand to enable the elderly to be cared for in the best condition.