Artificial Intelligence will soon replace teachers in the classroom. Do you agree wit this statement? What is an alternative to traditional face-to-face teaching.

The idea that classroom tutors will in the nearest future be replaced by artificially intelligent machines, is ridiculous and unfounded at its best. This is because teaching as a profession requires not only intellectual prowess but emotional connection between teachers and students and machines lack this attribute. Instead, online education is a better substitute to conventional face-to-face learning.

Artificial intelligence lacks emotions and therefore will not be able to replace human instructors in the classroom. For effective impartation of knowledge, the giver and receiver must be able to connect emotionally.Machines would not be able to decipher if the students are following the course of teaching or when they are sick and unable to learn. Humans alone have the gift of empathy and this is needed to creat a conducive atmosphere for learning. For example a resent pilot study of machine delivered lectures at a local college in Benin, Nigeria saw the failure rate of students rise to 90% as against 15% with regular teachers. Most of the students complained of not been able to connect with the machines emotionally.

Rather than machines, online courses is a better substitute to face-to-face teaching as humans are still involved in this process even though they are not physically present with the students. Teachers record and post videos of their teachings for students to watch and listen to with instructions for tests and assignments. Students can give feedback to their tutors who can share their concerns and burdens, which machines are incapable of. Most schools around the world are already using this method of learning.

To conclude, replacing teachers with artificial intelligence in classrooms is completely impossible as these machines lack the ability to connect with students which is paramount for effective learning. Online classes is a better alternative instead as humans are involved in this process as well.