In many countries, good schools and medical facilities are available only in cities, some people think new teachers and doctors should work in rural areas for a few years, but others think everyone should be free to choose where they work. discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Urban centres have been known to have a fairer share of social amenities such as good learning centres and hospitals. Most people believe that educators and health care workers should compulsorily work in rural areas for sometime while others believe otherwise citing that everyone has the right to work wherever they choose which i strongly support.

Those who think education and health professionals should spend some years of their career in villages think that this move will enable rural dwellers have a taste of the excellent services city dwellers enjoy. When these workers spend time in the countryside, they will bring their expertise to bear which the inhabitants would not have been able to access if the workers were in the metropolis. This will lead to a more educated and healthier sub-urban population. For instance, Afuze, a suburb of Benin city has recorded a decrease in death rate since the government made it mandatory for young health and education graduates to spend the first five years of their post graduation in rural areas.

In a democratic society however, i believe people have the right to practice their careers wherever they consider fit. Instead of limiting where people can work, the government should make rural areas attractive. They can do this by building state of the art facilities and offer incentives to people willing to set up there. For example, rural areas in Canada have witness an upsurge immigration of professionals because the government provided adequate facilities for its dwellers including free medical and educational coverage.

In conclusion, though some opine that medical and educational personnel should be made to work in rural areas so its dwellers can benefit from their knowledge, I support others who believe that people have the right to practice their chosen career wherever they want. Moreso, if the authorities made rural areas attractive, people will voluntarily migrate there to work and to stay.