Artists need a certain amount of freedom to develop their creativity. Some people think artists should have total freedom to express any thoughts and ideas. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A considerable number of people assert that there is a need for certain protocols for artists to encourage reasonable creativity, while others are staunch opponents of the aforementioned notion claiming that there ought to be complete freedom of expression for an artist to express their ideas. I am in strong support of the former view as certain guidelines are necessary for harmony in society.

While some say freedom is obligatory for art and painting to flourish, there is a need to have a few rules and regulations devised by the government all over the globe in order to have a check on art creators. To give an example, there are few forms of art that are unsuitable for the children that should follow the protocols during creation and distribution. In addition, few graffiti incites violence and fuel hate among the population, disrupting the bonding of the society and nation.

Another point to consider that few art creators create cartoons in the name of religious figures, affecting the sentiments of the religious population, leading to mass protests on the streets. Cartoons of religious figures in past, for instance, had developed a negative impression on the few sections of the society, resulting in the bombing of the magazine office and the loss of lives of artists. Hence, it is mandatory for the government to come up with censorship on the art, and ban a few of them, if required.

In conclusion, although few individuals state that the art creators need complete freedom as it encourages creativity, I am an adamant supporter of the view that censorship is the need of the hour as it will promote harmony among people.