Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime. Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Owing to jury inaccessibility to the past criminal record of the accused, there is an extra layer of protection for them, thus, a considerable number of lawyers advice that the jury in criminal cases ought to have accessibility to these data before giving a final decision. In my opinion, I completely disagree with the articulation as it might impact the decision-making of the judge.

One evident benefit to accessing a historical database is to have a lot of information about the accused. In order words, having all this information will help in knowing the person personally, understanding their character and attitude towards society. To give an example, it will aid in knowing if the person is a law-abiding citizen and is a one-time offender, or is a frequent offender. Another reason that having past data is advantageous is to consolidate all the crimes and figuring out the reasoning for the same.

Just as two sides of a coin, there are multiple demerits of accessing old information, which might lead lawyers to defame the defendant on the basis of past cases rather than focusing on the present case. As a result, they will question the accused character and behaviour for old cases and might try to influence the result on the current case. Thus, it might impact the mental image and decision-making of the jury, as they will be considering complete historical information rather than focusing on the present crime.

In conclusion, although few lawyers consider that inaccessibility to past records is leading to safe haven for criminals, I am in adamant support of the opinion that sharing the historical information of the defendant might influence the outcome of the case.