Being a celebrity – such as a famous film star or a sports personality – brings problems as well as benefits.

Do you think that being a celebrity brings more benefits or problems?

A celebrity status comes with a lot of privileges and responsibilities. To begin, a public personality is somebody who has reached a certain level of eminence in their respective fields. Usually, popular people hail from modelling, sports, entertainment, politics, research related domains. Hence, public interest becomes inevitable.

Firstly, the main advantage when there are loyal followers such a person can use this to social benefits.Eg: a beauty pageant winner propagating world peace, an economist like Amartya Sen writing about poverty etc.,Furthermore, any matter endorsed by such figures will garner media attention.

Secondly, this increases the goodwill of such person. it throws a positive light on that personality besides being a productive cause.Most commonly celebrities rely on these methods to further their career or explore new areas.

Thirdly, if the planet pays attention to any person closely, he or she will feature in commercial advertisements. Surely, this is going to increase their earnings and is certainly not hurting their wallet.A good example in the Indian context is with Hrithik Roshan or Deepika Padukone who are style icons in e-commerce websites. A fashion line associated with them is not overlooked by shopaholic souls.Obviously, their names itself serves as a brand for many products and hence is a friendly deal to their pockets

Lastly, like two sides of a coin, all these ups have their own set of issues. One most personalities do not have longevity in their careers, the others who survive maybe addicted to vices or involved in embarrassing controversies. They don't even get basic privacy. Also, with the increased use of social media the trolls, memes are certainly on the rise.Most end up with depression or suicidal instincts.