The best way to reduce traffic congestion in cities is to provide a free public transport service. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion and examples from your own experience. (India – Academic – March 2018)

Population of the world is increasing by leaps and bounds and undoubtedly taking a toll on the amount of traffic condition in city. As traffic congestion is increasing rapidly, many people think that government should allow free of cost commute. In my opinion, making public transport free would not help to reduce number of vehicle on the roads.

To embark on, people living in the cities are comparatively well off and capable of using their own vehicle in daily commute hence, removing fare will not be of much help. many people find public transport more time consuming as they have to travel some distance in order to reach to the nearest subway station or bus stop. As cities are getting overpopulated, taking a bus or train will not be a comfortable ride thus majority would refrain to use it. Furthermore, public transport nowadays, are not considered to be safe. many complaints have been registered for pick pockting and scuffles.

Instead of making it free, government can plan on improving its efficiency, safety and reach among various parts of the city. various organizations can run campaigns to promote use of public transport and showcase its benefits to the people. Alternatively, government should give more parking space so that people can cover some part of their travel by bus or train. For instance, I usually travel by metro however since the station is bit far from my home, I use my car to reach the station and board the train to reach the destination. This way, I can save some time and leverage public facilities.

To end with, there is no doubt that use of public transport helps in decreasing traffic in cities however, merely by making it free and not considering other factors will definitely not encourage people to use it.