Biometric: A revolution in payment systems

Today in society cyber-crimes is increasing rapidly. Security has been mesmerised with a mere idea of biometric technology. Even movies are no exception to this enchantment; there are several classic examples of iRobot or James Bond movies – where the importance of biometric technology is shown at par. This is a hint of future revolution where human DNA is inherently linked up with their digital personality.

In recent years, fantasy has come true in the form of biometric technology. It includes speech, face recognition, fingerprint or iris scan. All this is used as the evolution of secure payments from your devices.

Why is biometric technology secure and capable?

There are various reasons why biometric technology has proved to be secure these days.

Unique

Intrinsic property

Unattainable to forge Impossible to lose

Once a niche technology essentially constrained to being used in a few industries or in any other niche verticals, biometric technology is now found on millions of Apple and Android devices, also in some of the leading financial sectors and also at bigger airports.

By the Apple’s Touch ID technology, that proved to be a breakthrough example for hundreds of banks. Now even they have started using the fingerprint scan technology to authorise secure payment gateways for their mobile applications. This component explores the competent payment systems that were once a vogue, fiction or prospect, and delve into the security challenges.

Biometric technology – changing payment trends in payment method

Reliable validation has become necessary in recent times. The major consequences of insecure validation in a banking or business environment can be a disaster, with the loss of confidential data, money, and conciliated data reliability. User authentication is required in several applications, including physical access control to offices, e-commerce, healthcare, immigration and border control, etc.

At present, the established techniques for user authentication are like passwords, user IDs, identification cards and PINs. These old-age techniques endure from various restrictions like passwords and PINs can be forged, lost or illegally acquired by clandestine surveillance.

In addition, there is no way to optimistically associate the usage of the system or service by the genuine user. A password can be shared, and there is no way for the applications to learn whether used by the genuine user.

Biometric technology eradicates the need to carry hard cash, various payment cards or even a mobile device. It permits users to authorise secure payments with just a fingerprint, handprint, face, speech recognition or iris scans.

Here the newly found biometrics technology offers an additional accurate and reliable user authentication technique.

Conclusion

All said and done, but more innovation and development are required in terms of biometric technology. This emerging technology has rescued several banks with millions of cyber frauds. Many data security practitioners have raised several concerns about the biometric method of payment security and user privacy.

The main concern is the possibility of biometric data being robbed, and the risk of biometric identity burglary. It’s crystal clear now that it’s still in early stages in the biometric payment system. Hence, more innovation is needed to make it a perfect security payment system.

Emerging biometrics technology is expanding in every field, and since it delivers so many prospective applications, much more is expected with new improved designs in future years. With all due respect to biometric methodology, the verification procedure still remains the same.

A person’s unique identity is captured and stored in the application database. And as a process of verification record is matched by new record every time, and the unique identifier is validated. After all, there must be incredible problems identified with the safeguarding of password. But all these hassles will soon disappear with the use of biometric technology.