Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

Do you agree or disagree?

The education system has always been a topic of debate for many people. The levels of education end up spending more time on theoretical knowledge more compared to practical knowledge. I agree with the statement to an extent, but there are also details I want to clarify.

Education is recognized as a vital to the future of any society in today's world and this the first reason. I feel education either theory facts or practical skills both are needed for a strong foundation. And our children from primary schooling to graduation are thought the theoretically more, in forms of textbooks, long notes, and exhaustive examinations to test memory than actual learning. Although these facts make them aware of previous experiences and mistakes to be avoided in the future. For instance, learning mathematics subject helps them understand the calculation mechanics and aid them in utilizing these facts into practical use for buying commodities or investing and managing finances better.

The second reason is it helps them evolve into a socially responsible citizen. Learning facts mitigates children in various phases of life. It grooms them socially, physically as well as mentally. Although the structure of education has to be balanced and these days many institutes have realized the importance and have started implementing it. Some such examples are the increasing real-life tasks and case studies given to MBAs students which help them analyze and solve problems faced by society.

Therefore, I conclude to disagree that only learning facts is emphasized on children's education pattern from their primary years till graduation level. In addition, I feel it is well balanced with good amount of exposure to the practical aspects of learning also.