Modern children are suffering from the diseases that were once considered to be meant for adults only. Obesity is a major disease prevalent among children.

What are its causes and what solutions can be offered?

In the recent past, diseases associated with adults are now known to children as well. There are various reasons allied behind it. The major causes are today's sedentary lifestyles, unhealthy diet, at times genetics. Amongst all reasons, obesity has dramatically increased in children over the last few years in the developing countries. This is an alarming situation which should be controlled in time. It is a mutual responsibility of both individual and government to identify the reasons for this vulnerable disease and rectify it.

The prime cause of obesity is fatty food. Today, a trend of eating at hotels has amplified drastically. People do not like to cook and eat home-cooked food every day. Children love to consume soft drinks, pizza, burgers, sandwiches, chips, and other junk foods. One of the reasons could be lack of cooking time as both parents are working. Other causes could be the rise in technological development steadily eliminate the concept of physical routine works from our lives.

The second foremost reason is lack of outdoor activities. Children these days enjoy playing with Playstations, video games, indoor activities, watching television, etc. All this leads to inactive and sluggish lifestyles. As per the recent study, earlier this disease was thought to be found in the developed countries such as USA, UK, and other European countries but now a similar trend is seen in the developing countries like India, China, and other Asian countries.

To tackle this problem is become the utmost priority and requires definite action plan. A key role has to be played by parents to solve this issue. Encouraging children to have more home-cooked food. Preparing a balanced diet is essential. Educating them about the ill-effects of junk food. Promoting them to play more outdoor games hence restoring a balance between calorie consumption and energy expenditure.

In conclusion, I would like to say that obesity can be controlled by modifying our lifestyles and eating habits. Parent's attention and care is must and contributes a lot in this regards. Although government's role cannot be neglected while addressing this concern.