Modern children are suffering from diseases that were once considered to be meant for adults only. Obesity is a major disease prevalent among children. What are its causes and what solutions can be offered?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The twenty-first-century children are more prone to serious illnesses such as obesity which were earlier only meant for grown-ups. A sedentary lifestyle and increasing fast food are the most evident reasons for this situation, and the best solutions for this are launching awareness campaigns about their dangers and encouragement to outdoor activities.

Current generation adolescents are highly attracted to the technology that has made them a couch potato. They spend most of their day playing video games and surfing on the internet. Due to this, they are becoming lazy and plumpy. As per the survey of the Indian health organization, for instance, more than 51 % of children in India are suffering from overweight due to their addiction to mobile games and social media. To handle the problem, parents need to encourage their children to play more outdoor activities, which could boost their energy and stamina and ultimately make them active. This activeness would prevent our young ones to gain more weight.

Another cause is that the younger generation mostly prefers to consume fast and ready-made food. They are fascinated by International snacks such as pizzas, burgers, and french fries. All these items contain huge calories and consequently creating issues of chubbiness in our youth. To tackle the issue, the government should launch a public campaign in the media and schools to educate teenagers about the harmful effects of fast food. It will shed some light on the difficult situation and allow them to be more attentive and honest about it. To illustrate, the said initiative in japan resulted in a 48 % decrease in obesity in their children.

In conclusion, educating youngsters about the evils of junk food, and motivating them towards physical activities are the most practical ways to control the issue of rising fatness among them.