In many cities, many people are living in large apartment blocks. Does this accommodation have more advantages or disadvantages?

Nowadays, people living in urban areas prefer to reside in the flats of multistory apartment buildings. In my opinion, I believe that this trend has more benefits in terms of effective space utilization, availability of all facilities at one place and security, but with some drawbacks of high cost and small size.

One of the major disadvantage of large apartments is the high cost of living there. Firstly, the purchase price of these flats is beyond the range of a common man, and could be purchased only with the help of bank loans. Secondly, the monthly maintenance expenses such as electrician services, plumbing services, cleaning services and 24-hour electricity and water supply services are fixed, and to be paid in advance. Apart from this, the overall size of each flat is small, and it become difficult to adjust properly for a large family.

Despite the fact of high cost of living, there are number of benefits that one could obtain by staying there. First and foremost benefit is the availability of all facilities and comforts which are necessary for daily routine life are provided under one roof. The facilities such as supermarket, gym, parking and gardens are provided by builders in these type of buildings. Another advantage is the safety and security, as security guards are deployed at main entry gate and in the peripheral of the apartment to avoid any unauthorized entry. Finally, the space is utilized logically and effectively in order to accommodate maximum families, and this is the need of the hour because population is increasing at alarming rate.

In conclusion, although the cost of living is high in these well furnished apartments, it is justified due to the numerous facilities and comforts being provided to the dwellers.