In many cities, many people are living in large apartment blocks. Does this accommodation have more advantages or disadvantages?

The recent decades have seen a rise in the number of individuals who live in apartment complexes, while they used to live in their own house in the past. I think this phenomenon stems from overcrowding and it has brought massive benefits to human's life, although it created some problems.

On the one hand, accommodating in apartments and skyscrapers has many upsides and it enables everyone to live in a group. It means, these people are able to share some expenses such as gas or electricity bills and take advantage of having these facilities without tolerating any sufferings or paying extra costs. Installing equipment and providing primitive facilities such as water, electricity in private houses is an arduous task which should be done by someone who would like to live lonely. Thus, this seems logical that people tend to live in such buildings.

Living in multi-storey apartments, however, can sometimes deter people from proceeding with their ambitions. For instance, people who are accustomed to live independently are suffering from obeying the rules such as being silence at midnights and participating in charges of the apartment. These rules can restrict everyone and they surely lack freedom. Moreover, if you live in an apartment, you have no permission to renovate your flat your flat due to the dependency it has to other flats. For example, constructing a fireplace in your flat may not be acceptable, although it can be fulfilled in a house.

To conclude, people in mega cities are going to live in apartments, as by choosing this way of living they can be enabled to share their costs and receive assists from their neighbours. I completely agree with this trend despite the limitations it may bring to us.