In many cities, people are living in large apartment blocks. Does this accommodation have more advantages or disadvantages.

An increasing number of population has started dwelling in high rise apartment blocks. In my view, this kind of accommodation are definitely advantages in terms of affordability, however they impose certain limitations as well.

First and major pros for the flats is that they provide low cost housing too many people in a smaller area. As we know quite a number of people have moved to urban areas for work, do not have enough money to buy or rent a house, hence, for them it is a blessing as one can rent a flat in their budget within the city area Also, the maintenance cost is very cheap as compared to houses where one has to bear all the expenses single handedly. On the other hand apartments have shared or very low maintenance expenses making them as a popular choice.

Secondly they tend to make people more social, in other words in the current era of Internet and social networking do not leave an individual with any spare time, these close apartments give them a chance to talk to each other and spend some time together, whereas population living in houses might not even get to know their neighbours.

In spite of having advantages, they also have few restrictions. They have limited area so you cannot have a personal space or if one wants to plant a garden that is also not feasible. There is no space to walk out or to do any exercises.

In conclusion the high rise apartments definitely provide an economic housing choice for many people in the city, but with space constraints.