In many cities, many people are living in high rise apartment blocks. Does this accommodation have more advantages or disadvantages?

An Increasing number of people are choosing to live in sky high towers specifically in urban areas. Such type of accommodations are generally cheaper while compared with row houses but also very compact and clumsy. In my opinion, People are far better off staying in bungalow or row house instead of flats.

One obvious advantage of staying in sky rise building blocks is that it offers people affordable accommodation in urban areas. With the increase in urban population, land is becoming increasingly expensive and, as a result, many people are unable to afford their own house. Large apartment block require a small area of land but can provide multiple flats which enable people on low incomes to continue living near city centre and their jobs. Therefore, staying in towers help people afford their own house easily.

However, high rise buildings usually offer small cumbersome flats with no outdoor space. For families, this can be a problem as each individual member of the family has little personal space which eventually leads to stress and unnecessary tension in relationships. According to recent survey, families who have personal space are tends to be much happier. Another issue with such residence is that people have no access to outdoor open space, due to which they are unable to do exercise. According to doctors, physical activity such as yoga or light exercise is essential for every individual. Hence, bungalow style homes provide better quality of living.

Changing lifestyle influenced people to choose flats over homes. Flats are often first choice for people want to immigrate to urban cities due to cost effectiveness but they usually don’t provide luxurious lifestyle. In conclusion, I would say although high rise apartments are cost effective, they don’t provide quality lifestyle.