Smacking children is the best form of discipline. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Physical punishment is often practised by parents in recent past years. Nowadays, punishment in using smacking children has become quite popular among certain people. This essay will argue why the punishment of children physically is a completely unacceptable way of discipline.

Often parents believe smacking is the most effective method of controlling children tantrums. Probably this form of punishment is practised by our ancestors making it completely tried and tested method. They are justifiably worried about their children actions that may affect the society. In addition, the children of this generation have become very difficult to handle that parents are lifted with no options. In recent study says, 60% of parents in India tend to use smack punishment because of unacceptable behaviour and inappropriate words. For these reasons, most parents strongly believe in smacking their children as it is the best way of educating and eliminating the inappropriate behaviour.

On another hand, some people consider that the physical violence can affect the child's psychologically as well as physically. If explored there are other forms of punishments that will help eliminate unpleasantly behaviour such as problem-solving skills and raise their children to be respectful and not fearful. Some examples that have been implemented by many parents withholding certain rewards like preventing television time, leisure time, play time. Due to these form of punishments, there has been a significant reduction in inappropriate behaviour and shown the positive effect in many families. For these reasons, the punishment is the wrong way of education, could potentially cause serious damage.

In conclusion, this essay argued some parents have preferred smack punishment despite other parents have refused the violence way. In my opinion, I entirely disagree with the physical assault that can risk for negative impact on child's development and personality.