Blood sports (like bull-fighting or cock-fighting) have become a hot topic for debate in recent years. Many people now say these sports are cruel to animals, of little cultural value, and should be banned.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the last decade, blood sports, such as bull-fighting, cock fighting, dog fighting and the like deserve particular attention. Many people hold the opinion that blood sports are atrocious and brutal, contribute to cultural degradation and must be forbidden. From my point of view blood sports should be banned.

There are two main problems with blood sports. Firstly, animals which take part in this kind of spectacles are treated harshly. A particularly good example of this is bulls which are confined in small and dark cages for a couple of days without food and water, in some cases dying before going out to the arena. Secondly, those kinds of sport carry different types of crimes such as illegally bets, money laundering, and others. In Mexico or Canary Islands, where cockfighting is still popular, many people use the fights as a facade for placing illegal bets or making drug deals.

It is true however, in many countries some blood sports considered to be traditional, for instance fox hunting in England, hawk hunting in Mongolia, cock fighting in several nations. But actually it was proved that some of them are not older then a century. For example bull-fighting in Spain does not belong to Spanish culture but French brought it around a hundred years ago.

To sum up briefly, in blood sports animals are treated terribly and other crimes, such as gambling or money laundering, are encouraged. Although people argue that they are part of traditional culture, many such sports are actually quite new. So I am against these sports because I believe animals have dignity and have the same rights as human beings and should not be treated unfairly and cruelly.