In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with

other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes

the government has to pay for this care.

Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from

your own knowledge or experience.

Certainly the question of who should pay for the old people expenses is one of the most heated issue which the UK government is still witnessing at present in the economy. I strongly believe that it is the responsibility of the government to not only bear the expenses of the senior citizens but also take better care of their needs.

Firstly, With low pension income and staggering rise in the inflation in the economy from the past 6 weeks has lead to a increase in the prices of goods and services which has make it next to impossible for old age citizens to buy products to fulfill their daily needs. Furthermore, It leads them to do some cost cutting on the essential items, for example cod liver sea oil is rich in protein and are being used daily by old people.

Secondly, Medicinal services has become inevitably more expensive and unreachable from the hands of the poor people because of the exorbitant prices being charged by the hospitals and medical institutes. That is the reason, you may find a big queue outside the government hospital where doctors are less and patient are more.

However, the family should not throw the luggage of their family members at the mercy of the government hands. They should cover their monthly expenses as much as possible by providing them a fixed monthly income to meet their needs.

To sum up, I think that the onus of senior citizens should be taken care by the government because it is not only their duty to give them the financial support but also take better care of their desires and want.