In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care.

Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

In Britain, old people often prefer to live in old age homes where they are assisted by nurses and have other old companions to spend time with, the Government has to pay for this quite often. In my opinion, I believe that the Government should bear all the expenses of the old age homes of its geriatric population.

Firstly, the old generations have contributed to building a country by paying taxes when they were young, so the government ought to provide them with assistance in old age. In other words, they have been the building blocks of their country and spend a big fraction of their earning towards the countries development, which otherwise they could have saved for their retirement. Thus, considering their contributions, the authorities must give them the money for their basic needs such as, shelter, food, health care, which is all available in the old age home.

Another reason for the government to pay for the old people is that it makes the nation prosperous and motivates the younger people for the development of their country. This sets an example that how the country returns favor and care for their old people and thus, make a good impression on young generations which encourages them to keep on striving for their nation. Moreover, the prosperity of the older generations is an example for others as they can see that as they contributed to the nation when they were young, the authorities also think and cares for them and they don’t have to get worried for their future as the government has a proper scheme for them.

In conclusion, I think that the authorities should be responsible for its old population as it is for other citizens and should provide them with expenses for their accommodation and necessities.