Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam.’

How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Travelling plays an important role for many people and most of them prefer to travel by private transport rather than public transport. Most of them own car for commuting from one place to another in past few decade which has led to traffic congestion.

There are several reasons why people buy cars to travel sound and peaceful. Firstly, nowadays ownership of a car shows a high statusco in the society. Many of them prefer to commute office by car as they could start to travel without any time constraints and in a comfortable way. Secondly, some families prefer to travel in one vehicle and they could stop the vehicle, wherever they want. Lastly , many employees provide vehicles as a gesture to their employees so that they could reach to the office without any issue of public transport.

On the other hand, Governments could impose restrictions on people who prefer to buy car. They could encourage people to use bicycle or to walk, as this could be an effective way to decrease pollution and global warming. They could also increase in public transport which are plying , so that people could commute comfortable and without any crowded transportation. They should also restrict private transport or parking in oublic places , so that they public transport could go without getting stuck in traffic jam. Public services could increase in oil prices or car charges, so that there could be decrease in car ownership.

To sum up, although car ownership is important but people should consider environmental factor and also prefer to use public transport for travelling