Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years than many cities in the world are now one big traffic jam

How true do you think this statement is

What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

It is a widely accepted argument that the number of car increase during the last 3 decades contribute directly to traffic issues in major cities around the world. This paper will discuss the given argument and provide recommendations to encourage people using public transports.

There are several type of vehicles could be used for traveling but car have been the most popular among people. Citizens choosing car because of its safety, durability and mobility. For instance, a high quality car ensure safety for drives by airbags during an accident or it could useful when drivers travel to multiple destinations. Moreover, with the booming of population in mega cities, the number of car skyrocket is inevitable, as a result traffic jam becomes common in big cities included New York, London and Paris.

There are number of solution should be taken to encourage people to participated in public transportation. First of all, taxes rate imposed on car should be increased to a higher rate, therefore car ownership would switch to public transport. Secondly, to attract more customers, transportation fee needed to be reduced or recalculated until it becomes appropriate for people. Finally, more money should be spent to maintain the quality of public transportation. For example, the authority should pay more attention and financial support to maintain and upgrade roads or railways to maximize the productivity of these vehicles.

In conclusion, traffic jam happened due to the excessive increase in the number of private cars and there are several solutions should be taken regarding to this issue.