Children are generally more successful in foreign language studies than adults. Thus, it is better to learn languages in childhood.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is thought by some people that an early age is the best time to learn a new language because children are more rewarding than adults in terms of language learning. I completely disagree with this statement, because learning a foreign language entirely depends on the sincere interest of a person, as well as his native language.

Firstly, the age factor is not important for bilingualism, but genuine interest plays a significant role in it. Developing new language skills seems like a puzzle game when one learns for their own interest rather than as a tool to learn new cultures and meet new people. Moreover, those who are passionate about learning new language is often more confident and fearless while speaking than those who learn just for the education purpose.A recent survey noticed that people who learn languages only for the sake of communicating tend to overlook little details, which end up piling up and slowing down the learning process later on. People's interest in languages makes them bilingual despite their age.

Secondly, the native language of students is also an important factor in learning any foreign language. If the target language of the student is the same as his / her native tongue in terms of grammatical structure and they just need to place the new material on certain shelves in his memory and use them as their own language. Children, in contrast, are usually confused by any grammar, even of their country. Bringing foreign language to curriculum adds embarrassment because they do not have sufficient understanding of grammatical of semantic categories and can not bring to order such huge amounts of information. National research confirms that adults who speak German, French, or Dutch as their first language can learn English faster than the Asian. Finally, for adults its easy to memorize words and grammar rules that is related to their native language than children.

In conclusion, adults are better suited to language learning than children because mostly older people learn language for their passion, and they are better than children in terms of understanding the structure and rules of the language.