Children’s education is expensive. In some countries, governments pay partly or all education fees.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that school tuition fees are so expensive that working class families could not afford them. While some people hold the view against the idea that governments should cover the education fees, I believe there are definitely more advantageness than disadvantageness.

Several drawbacks should be considered when implementing this policy. Firstly, the money spent on the free education project is from government revenue, which could lead to a tax increase. The government might impose educational tax on everyone in this country. It is extremely unfair to those people without the need of education. Secondly, the government should allocate the fund to those public services like hospitals, polices, and infrastructure projects which are immediately associated to the public's daily life. The public health and securities are far more important than education.

In my opinion, this policy can definitely result in many merits. Firstly, countless students drop out of school due to financial concerns every year. They could benefit a lot from this proposal which means They could continue their education without worrying about tuitions. With more teenagers in school, it might cut the criminal rate and juvenile delinquency. Free tuition makes it possible for more students from economic deprived families to have the access to higher education, thus let them to gain an edge in an ever-increasing competitive job market. It could lead many families out of dire poverty. In addition, many workers could also gain a lot from this project. They may receive adult education or vocational training if the policy could be implemented. As a result, they can give more values to not only the employees but also whole country. More government revenue could be expected if the company could make more profit. Finally, this project could increase the literacy rates and everyone's educational qualifications, which could give the country an edge in the ever increasingly globalised world. The cultural industries and entertaining business will be booming because of more people are qualified in these specific areas which needs a lot of education.

In conclusion, despite the burden on taxpayers, the free education supported by governments could benefit not only each person, each company, but also the whole society.