Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important.Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The job market is becoming increasingly competitive day by day. Nowadays, to land on a good job, it is necessary to have both a solid educational background and adequate on-the-job experience. Moreover, the soft skills, such as communication and time management, are playing a crucial role in determining the employers' favorite candidate. While deciding on the key criteria for employability, arguments can be made for both the need and education and the development of experience and soft-skill. However, personally, I believe that a candidate who is seasoned and has more soft skills is more likely to be selected for a competitive job than those who only have a university degree.

Supporters of the idea of educational background securing desirable employment primarily focus on two factors. Firstly, highly ranked universities have a formidable alumni base. As an evidence, of 167 fortune-500 companies in a database compiled by Nielsen, a highly reputed market researching firm, about 71% have CEOs from IV League colleges. Moreover, the researches conducted in top-ranked universities frequently relate to the job nature of the industries. In that case, companies directly recruit the researchers so that they can rip the benefit of their research. For example, finance graduates who develop financial models for their university projects usually get absorbed by investment banking firms. As a result, some people are more inclined to the idea that the university degree is the key component while pursuing a good employment opportunity.

On the other hand, others, including myself, believe that both experience and soft skills are more crucial for achieving superior employment. Adequate experience regarding the task at hand is required to be able to make informed decisions. For example, an experienced weatherman will be more likely to successfully predict the weather than a novice one. Moreover, having soft skills in his or her arsenal, an employee will have a better probability to be not only adaptive to new changes but also more efficient regarding productivity. To illustrate, a great portion of an executive's job requires communicating with internal and external clients, which requires soft skills such as communication and public speaking.

Moreover, people who are now leading the top organizations, as discussed previously, had to become good communicators and gain experience before they could attain their current status. Therefore, gathering a certain amount of seasoning and developing soft skills are two key components in securing employability.

To conclude, although university education plays a certain role in securing a good job, experience and soft skills are more critical. The essay argued the effects of a university degree, experience, and soft skills on employability and concluded that the latter two are more important to gain a reputed role in and organization, supporting my personal opinion.