Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Whether being awarded university degrees or not has sparked many debates recently. While some people think that completion of university education is the right way to be employed, others, however, are of the opinion that it is much better to foster soft skills and gain experience instead. I, for one, believe the latter view is correct on the basis of some compelling reasons.

On the one hand, the advocates of completing university education to getting a job assert that the benefits accruing from it are by no means negligible. Firstly, The higher-level degree one holds, the higher chance they stand to get well-paid jobs. In other words, most youngsters are urged to finish their current educational program and then take it to the next level in the hope of getting employed by more prestigious companies in conjunction with better annual income. Second, these would-be graduates and post-graduates believe that studying at university will contribute to being professional and qualified job seekers in technical careers. Doctors, engineers, and lawyers are saliant illustrations in this respect.

On the other hand, others put forward the argument that getting experienced and developing soft skills are of greater importance. First and foremost, graduating from formal educational centers, many of these alumni clearly fall behind just because they lack needed experience. It is self-explanatory that in today’s job market, which is quite competitive in many ways, having some hands-on experience is required by most employers. Soft skills are also completely ignored in universities, at least in my country. Take foreign languages, computer skills (computer literacy), and problem-solving skills as examples; little or no attention is paid when it comes to these nontheoretical subjects. Thus, most universities and colleges simply fail to prepare their students for life after graduation.

In conclusion, Although I am not entirely against university education, it seems the number of these educational sites in which graduates are truly trained for the future in the job market are in minority. Therefore, should the youth desire to have a better career trajectory compared to their educated counterparts, they need to stand out by fostering their experience and soft skills.