Computers are being used more and more in education. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and reach a conclusion.

Computers are the need of the time. With its recent features such as eBooks and online courses, computer presence has expanded to a great extent in the field of study since the time the computer was first introduced in the education system. Ever-increasing usage of computers in studies has multiples benefits in this technology-driven age but this also brings along a few downsides.

On the one hand, the facility of being able to study remotely is perhaps the biggest plus of computers in education systems. This enables pupils to learn at home and skip school travel which is fruitful in a number of cases especially when students have a time crunch and find it difficult to manage their travel to far away schooling institutes. Another viable advantage of increased presence of computers in education system is the availability of up to date study material online. As world wide web has global outreach so each recent development in any area is published first on the internet. By this, we mean that students can study recent developments in their area of education with the help of computers which is not possible in the traditional mode of learning via literature and course books. Various education bodies have made it mandatory for their students to carry laptops for the academic studies owing to the updated content available online, one such example is Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi.

Turning to possible drawbacks, distractions such as games, and other media content available in-parallel while studying is one of the much-debated downsides of increasing involvement of computers. It appears that many young kids are not capable of focusing on studies in the presence of options such as online games and this situation tends to deteriorate their involvement in studies and ultimately results in lower grades. Examples can be seen in Japan where majority of primary schools have banned the usage of Computers due to the very same reason. Furthermore, many studies have revealed that stress levels in youth have arisen since the entry of computers in education. These studies claim that reading on a screen is more exhausting than book reading and may result in eye sight related problems, if usage is not controlled.

In conclusion, It appears that distraction and stress levels can take a toll on the health of students, especially in childhood and early adolescence however long list advantages such as the latest content and studying remotely tightly couples computers with studies. A controlled and monitored usage by students can undoubtedly maximize the benefits and outplace the disadvantages linked increasing use of computers in studies.