Computers are increasingly popular these days. Many people think that the advantages the computer has brought outweigh the disadvantages. What is your opinion? Give your reasons in your own experience.

Nowadays, computers are ubiquitous and almost every home, office, or school has a computer of some kind these days. There can be no denying that this is because of plethora of benefits from using computers. In this essay I will be discussing both advantages and disadvantages of computers and support the former view.

The most significant advantage is, our personal and professional lives have improved because of computers. We can do more things and at faster pace than we could before. For example, we can operate our bank account sitting anywhere in the world because of computers. Some people who are occupied at work, cannot visit store for shopping can shop online with the help of computers. Computers are involved in everything these days. For instance, teachers use computer to write their lessons and get information for their classes. Also, we can communicate globally with our extended family, friends with the help of computers.

On the other hand, computer technology has its shortcomings too. Computers have stopped our thinking ability. Frequent and prolonged exposure to computers may pose physical health issues especially for children. The most frequently cited are visual strain, and posture problems. For example, a recent search by WHO has shown that lot of young children these days are facing eyesight and health problems because of excessive use of computers.

To sum up, there is no doubt that computers have made our lives simpler. In spite of the drawbacks which we cannot deny, the pros are much more than the cons provided they are used wisely.