In the modern era, to be employed one needs to have skills. Education is considered an important tool to learn new skills. Irrespective of this, there has been a rise in the voice to make education mandatory only up to primary school. I am against this thought and believe that government should promote education through various schemes to bring the unemployment level low.

It is a well-known fact that education is a key to develop skills. In the 21st century where technology has taken over the manual jobs, skills are important to get the jobs. Only specialists are required to manage the machines. Education is prerequisite to learn to operate these high-tech machines. Since the advancement of technology, there has been a steady decline in manual labour. According to a report of labor ministry, with the advancement of data science and artificial intelligence, it is expected that unemployment will further rise. The only solution that has been recommended by experts is to get an education and learn to co-exist with these technologies.

Education not only helps an individual to get the job but also helps in prevailing the sanity in the society. It is often seen that uneducated people are behind heinous crimes. An educated person understands his moral duty and consequences of such crimes. Thus, refrains from committing them. An article published in the national daily brought into light a story of an African nation. Where community programs have been initiated to provide secondary school education to counter the crime. The report highlighted that results have started showing up and crime has decreased.

To conclude, secondary education is an important essential requirement in modern society to curb unemployment and to keep crime in check. More people can be encouraged to not quite after primary school if the government brings in some initiatives by way of paid internships or scholarships.