As a country’s population grows, more homes are needed. Is it better to build these homes in existing cities or to create new towns in the countryside?

Give reasons to your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

Write 250 words.

The demand for more housing increases as one country’s population steadily rises. The question is, where should these houses be built? In my opinion, it is better to build them in the countryside rather than in the cities.

Many cities simply do not have sufficient free space to build houses, since much of the livable areas are already teeming with residential and commercial properties. In our city for instance, the government has no option but to build housing projects in the outskirts of the city and on a land where an old factory used to stand. However, health officials contested the project, saying that the area is not safe considering all the harmful chemicals that the factory used to work with.

Alternatively, building houses in the countryside comes with several benefits. Firstly, the air is fresher and cleaner which is good for the health of the future residents of the houses. Secondly, the quiet and relaxing environment can help people effectively deal with work-related stress. Aside from the health benefits, building more houses in the countryside can also help to improve that area’s economy. As more people start to live there, companies will eventually follow and put up businesses there.

There are people who dislike the idea of building more homes in the countryside, arguing that such plans can have a negative impact on the environment. However, with proper planning, this shouldn’t be a problem at all. There are many advantages of living in the countryside, and building new houses in such areas will allow more people to enjoy these benefits.