Crime is a big problem in the world; many believe that nothing can be done to prevent it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advancement in industrialisation, the crime ratio is increasing exponentially. Although some believe that increasing offences in this world cannot be controlled. I, however, think that this can be tackled with improvement in two major areas.

Firstly, the prosecution system in the countries must be robust to control this issue. To elaborate, although I concede that most of the countries on this planet are facing the pressing issue of either weak or slow jurisdiction system, which allows many miscreants to take advantage of this weakness. This fragility; however, can overcome to generate the fear of punishment in offenders; hence, they will get reluctant while committing crimes. For instance, Saudia Arabia is well-known for its strong legal and execution system and its clampdown on criminals. Therefore, Saudia Arabia has consistently been ranking as one of the safest countries on this planet from two decades.

Another area which can have profound impacts in tackling this grave issue is the use of technology. It could be argued that many developing nations do not possess enough financial and technological resources. However, I would argue that even the minimal use of technology, if effective, can control crimes to a great extent. For instance, building safe cities by installing security cameras are not really expensive; however, the utility it provides in controlling crime ratio is unmatchable. Therefore, technology, if uses effectively, can minimise the number of offences in the cities.

To conclude, not only does the weak legal system motivate offenders to commit crimes, but it also increases the ratio of offences in the contemporary world. Therefore, although I acknowledge that the use of technology demands financial resources, I disagree that crimes can not be prevented.