The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advanced technology which can prevent and solve the crime. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, advanced technology is helpful in preventing and solving criminal activities. This essay agrees with this statement because of the improved surveillance and connectivity among people.

To begin with, technology has been enormously useful in improving surveillance all across the globe. Installation of CC cameras along with the infrastructure has been helping the police and the other authorities to constantly have information about any illegal activities. Moreover, people are aware of the fact that they are under constant observation which prevents them from committing any crime. For instance, in 2017 in Hyderabad city in India, the state government had installed around one lakh CC cameras to keep a check on illegal activities. This declined the crime rate to 23% when compared to the previous year. This shows that technology makes a huge impact on the crime rate.

Staying connected irrespective of time and place is one of the major advantages of the technology. People can communicate through call or the internet at any given time. Therefore, information is easily spread within a fraction of seconds. This makes criminals think before they commit unlawful activities. Even though they are involved in particular fraud, technology makes it easier for the police to solve the respective crime. For example, in the year 2015 in Delhi, the capital city of India, 456 sexual assault cases associated with taxis had been reported. But with tracking via GPS, sharing whereabouts of travelers to friends and families have been plummeted the cases to only 23 in 2018. This shows that connectivity with the help of technology helps in lowering the crime rate.

To conclude, technology helps in declining the crime rate not only by improving the surveillance but also by improving connectivity among people.