The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advanced technology which can prevent and solve crime.

Do you agree or disagree?

There is an issue about the benefits security technology has on the level of crime. Some safety keepers say that the usage of modern gadgets has led to the low number of crimes. This essay agrees with their point of view.

Let us start with reasons why some security guards state that the number of crime decreases due to the usage of technology in security. The first reason is that security technology is widespread. For example, cameras are present in almost every corner, so many offenders find it nearly impossible to escape their sight to break a law. Another reason is that It can work without breaks. Pieces of protective technology, such as security alarms, generally function for 24 hours, because, in contrast to human guards, they need neither sleep nor food. Furthermore, it is too sophisticated to deactivate. Security cameras can be turned off by police officers at the police station; therefore, criminals cannot mostly deactivate them before entering a house illegally.

However, some police officers argue that sometimes technology has little positive effect on crime rate. Firstly, many criminals can stop it functioning with anti-security gadgets. Professional burglars frequently apply handmade devices to deceive both modern cameras and alarms to steal jewelry, so technology cannot offer absolute safety. Secondly, every technology has blind spots. The outlaw is mainly aware of technological flaws, such as blind spots, which allow them to fulfill their devil plans without a fear of being noticed. Moreover, many criminals are normally related to the victims. Offenders often know their targets and what protective measures they use, so they can either deactivate or evade these measures easily.

In conclusion, although some police officers advocate that technology has a negligible impact on the level of crime, I think that it deters many criminals and significantly lowers the crime rate.