Increasing numbers of students are choosing to study abroad. To what extent does this trend benefit the students themselves and the countries involved? What are the drawbacks?

Education overseas is growing in popularity. Some teachers state that it is advantageous for both students and countries, while economists believe that it is disadvantageous for them. In this essay, I will consider both pros and cons of taking courses abroad.

Let us start with the main advantage of studying in another country for children as well as target countries. First of all, it allows overseas students to develop their language skills, because they can completely immerse themselves into the new environment and speak to native speakers. Secondly, it is an opportunity for host countries to raise additional income. Universities can receive more funding, if more foreign students come to study there through high tuition fees. As a result, they can cover some holes in the budget and increase wages for university staff as well.

However, there are some disadvantages of graduating overseas. Firstly, the major drawback for students is that they often suffer from being separated from their family. Many international students end educational year with a poor academic marks, since they find it arduous to study well, while living with no parental support. Consequently, they either fail to pass some exams or drop college. Moreover, host countries regularly have to deal with the shortage of accommodation. The better the education system is in the target country, the more overseas students desire to study there. This situation frequently causes a lack of housing for new students. Therefore, the government usually has to address this problem, if this tendency continues to grow.

In conclusion, even though studying overseas has many positive effects on both students and recipient countries, it also poses a great deal of problems for them.