Cycling is more environmental friendly than any other form of transportation. Why is it not popular in many places? And how to increase its popularity ?

Cycling is considered as one of the healthiest form of exercise and it also contributes to the betterment of the environment, if being used as a transport medium. Despite, people being well aware of its advantages, it is not quite a famous mode of transportation in a lot of places.

Firstly, nowadays, people have to travel very long distances for work and in many cases, these distances are over 50 kms, one side. Considering the duration of travel by cycle, they opt for other options like car, buses, bikes etc., which are comparatively faster. Other transportation modes are also far more comfortable than cycling in all health conditions, whether a person is sick or injured.

In addition, in some places people do prefer to travel by cycle, but refrain them from doing so, due to bad road conditions which may result in accidents. Moreover, security is another primary concern of commuters using the cycle as transport medium. A person may get seriously injured preventing theft or robbery of his/her valuable items during commute and may result in hospital.

In order to make this mode popular, governments should first construct good quality roads. They should also address security concerns of commuters. People should feel safe during their journeys. Companies should also give additional incentives to those who choose to travel by cycle, as they would be reducing company's cost for parking space.

To conclude, mostly everyone is well aware of the benefits of using cycle as a transport medium. Therefore, if respective governments take measures to address public concerns related to this mode then its popularity can definitely be increased.