Cycling is more environmental friendly than other forms of transport.

Why it is not popular in many places?

How can its popularity be increased?

Cycling is always considered the healthiest mode of transport for both humans as well as the environment. Additionally, the investment in the cycle is minimal when compared to other modes of transport, but it requires physical efforts to commute and also traffic has surged a lot, that is the reason it is not popular in many regions. However, with technological advancement, the use of cycle can be increased.

In many places, people find it arduous to pedal the cycle because of traffic caused by other vehicles. For example, in cities like Mumbai, there are no separate paths to drive the bicycle, during peak hours the over-crowding of cars makes it tedious for cycling. Moreover, it requires endurance to travel long distance on cycle, it is tiresome for unfit people to commute on a bicycle daily. Furthermore, the speed is not adequate enough to reach distant places on time, these are the few drawbacks for which cycles are not competent in most places.

Nevertheless, many efforts are been taken by the government and environmentalist to increase the usages of cycles, especially in cities where pollution is rising rapidly. A separate path is created on roads to avoid hindrance for cyclist; in Japan with the implementation of this idea has resulted in a rise in the number of cycles on roads. Also, with the innovation of the electric cycle, the efforts required are relatively lesser and many companies are investing in battery-based bicycles to reduce the global warming effect.

To sum up, in spite though cycling requires lot of physical strength, still, it has many health benefits as well as with evolving rechargeable cycles people will find it convenient to travel for commutable distance.