Write about the following topic:

‘Nowadays, news companies spend a lot of money covering international news.

However, local news is more relevant to people’s lives and should receive more

funding.’

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge

or experience.

The technology has proved fruitful for the human race. It is possible to interconnect with any part of the world with the help of upgraded telecommunication system, due to which, the journalists are able to cover the news without any border restrictions. However, it is been argued that news companies are focusing on international news, giving less importance to the local coverage. The argument is summarised in the below paragraphs.

Global news actually help us to know, what is happening around the world? News provides us with adequate information on the situation or crises in other countries and also shares the measures adapted by those countries. To illustrate, the cheapest mission to the moon achieved by the Indian Space Research Centre got global attention because of coverage from the international news. It is notable, that early pandemic news from China assisted the other nations to take precautionary measures on time; avoiding a devastating wild-spread of diseases across the world, saving lives of millions of people.

On the other hand, local news addresses the issues faced by our local citizens. The problems of the nation must be acknowledged on priority for the smooth functioning of the country. Local journalist not only raises the social awareness among the milieu but also highlights the adaptable measures which the council needs to take for the national prosperity. For example, during COVID-19 lockdown the social media was flooded with rumours, creating a chaotic environment in the society, on the other hand, local news made sure to suppress this fake information and provide necessary comprehensive news which can be helpful for the viewers. Additionally, a local journalist also captures and portrays issue in remote areas, where reach of international news channel is frail.

In my opinion, providing benefits to local news channels may assist the nation to see a better future by taking necessary measures in the community and by providing the right knowledge to the population. In spite of that, the information provided on international news can also motivate us towards globalisation, but limitations on showing global news must be taken care of.