Nowadays, people have more opportunities to access different sources of information, which enables them to gain more knowledge. However, there is a fact that numerous people are still unable to read or write. This essay firstly will discuss the drawbacks of illiteracy and then will provide solutions for the government.

To begin with, there are two disadvantages to illiteracy. Firstly, illiterates have certain limitations to pursue a good career. People are living in a knowledge-based society, in which employees are required to learn new concepts and new technologies. Therefore, illiterates will find it difficult to read and comprehend books to improve their knowledge for a professional job. Secondly, individuals who could not read or write are hard to maintain their social status. Without a good education, illiterates will have difficulty communicating with other people.

Illiterates are facing some certain drawbacks; there are two solutions that the government should consider it. Firstly, governments should provide financial support to families. Many poor families do not have enough money to bring their children to school, so the authorities should fund more budget for them. Secondly, governments need to work with schools to introduce online courses. Young generations nowadays have access to the Internet; so, they can take advantage of e-learning which is a powerful tool that allows individuals to approach higher education.

In conclusion, illiterates will have less chance to have a good career and to maintain their social status, so the government should allocate more budget and encourage e-learning which will enable more children to come to school.