The gradual increase in old population in rich, modern and industrialized country is really alarming. This will lead to a variety of negative impacts upon their people and society. There are various measures could be taken by governments to tackle this problem.

One of the main problems associated with the increase in the population of senior citizens is that governments need to allocate much more money as a pension for this age group to survive. This imposes a greater tax burden on working populations because of the reduction of labor force and larger amount of money needs. Furthermore if countries have a higher elderly proportion, the demand of healthcare and medical service will rise which can affect to the budgets for other age group. Another problem is that young adults will have to sacrifice their time to look after their elderly relatives.

However, it is not impossible to tackle these problems. Firstly, governments need to enforce the later retirement policy and rise the state pension age. For instant retirement age raise to about 67 years old in France. Besides, government should encourage people to have more children and immigration in order to boost the number of young adults in the future. Another way is governments could allocate funds for youngsters to promote them to be married.

In conclusion, the augmentation of average life expectancy in developed countries is creating some problems. The governments should have immediate and appropriate measures to increase the younger population in order to keep balance for the society.