In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

With the advancement of medical science , the mean life expectancy has improved remarkably in the developed countries. Although, this will pose some problems, measures can be taken to deal with them as we will see.

As a consequence of better health facilities, people are living longer than ever ,and this has resulted in some issues that need consideration. Firstly, the increase in number of aged members of society means more people are availing pension along with higher expense on geriatric care , which increases financial burden on the government. The young members , in turn, have to pay more taxes to maintain the balance between revenue generated and expenses. Secondly, there is lesser workforce available to the country , because it has a major part of population that is retired and no longer working. This makes it difficult for the nation to develop its economy. Finally, the youth finds it challenging to take care of more aged relatives and earning at the same time to support their families.

In order to address these issues, the authorities can take several steps as described below. The retirement age could be increased from 65 to 70 in less physically and mentally demanding occupations. These days, senior citizens are in good enough health to perform most of the jobs competently. A second measure would be that the governments can make laws to simplify immigration procedures, which would increase the size of working age group as well as the number of tax payers. Furthermore, government funds could be redistributed to spend on health, accommodation and transportation for the elderly.

In conclusion, a large aging population poses potential problems which can be successfully handled by making some policy amendments by the governments of the concerned nations.