‘The Internet will never replace traditional course books in schools.’ How far do you agree with this prediction?

Internet has emerged as an important tool, supplementing modern education and has become a necessary component of today's teaching - learning process. Although, it is undeniably useful for the learners, but, in my opinion, its merits cannot outweigh the role played by traditional text books.

Firstly, course books are a result of extensive research by competent and highly qualified educationists, and are developed in accordance to the objectives set as per curriculum. Their contents are sequenced to ensure step by step and logical introduction of the concepts keeping in mind the concerned age group and corresponding learning capabilities. Secondly, the content in course books is precisely what a pupil needs to study for their respective class. This helps students to stay focused on what is relevant to their course. Finally, text books are convenient to use and follow, without causing unnecessary strain on eyes.

The Internet, on the other hand, provides access to the vast sea of information and, enables one to expand the horizons of curiosity. It has proven to be beneficial to clarify and understand difficult topics. It can be used to gain access to in depth knowledge, along with providing help in visualizing objects and phenomenon which are otherwise hard to comprehend. For instance, using online videos, three dimensional view of things can be better comprehended by looking at objects from different angles. Similarly, further explanations on any topic can be found just at one click. Furthermore, the greatest advantage is witnessed while conducting research. It makes information from all around the world available almost instantaneously. For example, doing literature surveys becomes way easier with its help. However, in spite of its many applications in higher levels of education, skimming large amounts of data can be distracting and overwhelming for school going children.

In conclusion, the Internet can be an important addition to educational resources available to the education faculty, but it cannot take the place of conventional text books.