With the development of online, there is no future for the radio.

To what extent do you agree?

There is an issue about the future of radio. Some Internet followers claim that radio will vanish in the future owing to the popularity of the web. This essay disagrees with their viewpoint.

Let us start with reasons why some internet supporters state radio will disappear in the future because of the Internet. The first reason is that people can read the news and listen to music on the Internet. People can find either any news or piece of music on the web, so it is unnecessary for them both to turn on radio and to wait for news time between music breaks. Another reason is that radio stations also broadcast their programs digitally online. People do not have to abandon their favorite radio channels, because they can listen to them online. Furthermore, radio signals are unavailable in remote areas. Radio listeners usually cannot enjoy radio in the countryside, since radio signals weaken through both hills and mountains, but with the help of the satellite connection, they are always connected to the web.

However, some radio followers believe that radio will remain for a long time. They justify their opinion with the following arguments. Firstly, radio is both free and widespread. In contrast to the web, radio listeners do not have to pay for the Internet to listen to the radio, because radio receivers, which are present in nearly every modern device, can accept pervasive radio waves. Secondly, radio programs are usually transmitted live. Most people usually find radio more interesting to listen to, since it casts the news as well as different entertaining programs in real time. Moreover, radio is relevant to a particular region. On the Internet, it is difficult for news seekers to find information about their region, but radio channels can supply them with it, because they usually focus on events in their hometown.

In conclusion, although some online promoters argue that the Internet can cause the death of radio, I think that this sort of information and entertainment will stay unaffected, as long as it is free and amusing.