What are the pros and cons of using public transport?

Two days ago, I read an article about the importance of public transport in cities. In the article, some politicians state that it brings a great deal of benefits to citizens. However, some car owners argue that it also causes many problems. In this essay, I will discuss both pros and cons of municipal transport.

Let us start with advantages of public transportation. The first merit is that it usually allows people to commute in the city at relatively cheap cost. Citizens, who own no vehicle, can cheaply travel to either university or office by bus and trolleys, because these vehicles are both widely available and affordable to everyone within urban areas. Another positive side is that it frequently contributes to the reduction of traffic congestions. The number of cars tend to decrease in cities with developed civil transportation, since people readily change their preferences in favor of comfortable buses as well as subways. Therefore, after analyzing, it is clear that municipal transportation is beneficial for cities.

Nevertheless, despite these beneficial effects, public transport has numerous negative sides. Firstly, it often destroys roads. The roads in cities crumble quickly, since the weight of buses is normally approximate to the maximum weight, which roads can endure, but the frequent usage of them exhausts their qualities. Secondly, they damage the appearance of cities. The owners of public transport are prone to use the empty space on their buses for advertisement, but it commonly spoils the overall view of the city owing to its inconsistency with the common architecture. As a result, after considering, it is obvious that public transport is detrimental for urban area.

In conclusion, even though civil transport, such as buses and subways, have plenty of positives, it also causes many difficulties for cities.