What are the advantages and disadvantages of using CCTV cameras to fight crime?

Nowadays, over the last ten years the number of CCTV cameras has increased dramatically. However, some politicians claim that apart from having a great deal of advantages this growing trend also has many disadvantages. In this essay, I will discuss both pros and cons of this phenomenon and give my opinion.

Let us start by looking at the benefits of CCTV cameras in curbing crime rate. One of the main positives of this is that it usually witnesses the moment of misdeed. This type of cameras can capture the site of wrongdoing so that criminals cannot avoid justice. What I mean by this is that if there are no camera, they can question the evidence in court and escape penalty. Another major advantage is that it may act as a deterrent. Criminals would think twice before committing a crime and therefore change the mind if they were aware of the inevitability of punishment. After analyzing these benefits, it is clear that CCTV cameras to combat crime is advantageous.

On the other hand, having CCTV cameras in the street has plenty of disadvantages. First of all, it often leads to violation of constitutional rights. In other words, they violate the right to privacy because they are installed in public places and record uninformed citizens, which is unfair. Secondly, it is usually easy to trick this type of cameras. Take cameras near banks for example. Experienced offenders can pass the cameras unnoticed around the bank since they know now to exploit the blind spots. As a result, CCTV cameras can become useless in crime elimination, once criminals are conscious of how to deceive them. After considering these drawbacks, it is obvious that using CCTV cameras can be worthless.

All things considered, even though there are plenty of positives in using CCTV cameras in dealing with felony, I think that above-mentioned drawbacks easily overweigh the benefits.