Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think that it is a waste of time.

Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

In Kazakhstan, there is a concern in society about the importance of art subjects. The reason for this issue is that they occupy more than twenty-five percent of the time children spend studying at school as well as seems to bring little benefit. Some teachers think that these disciplines are critical to learn at school, but others claim that they are unproductive. This essay agrees with the idea that art is not beneficial for pupils for the following reasons.

The main reason why I think that art subjects carry no significance to pupils is that they hardly ever contribute to the development of successful career. Generally, graduates often go to work as either engineers or economists so it is critical for them to give a greater preference to studying more vocational subjects than music and literature. As a result, the replacement of art subjects with practical subjects will improve their career prospects. For example, as part of experiment in Karaganda city, some schools substituted art disciplines with vocational ones to see how fast their former students could find employment. The outcome exceeded their expectancy since the employers admitted their better qualifications than those with no change in their curriculum.

However, some teachers state that it is necessary for children to study art at school. The main arguments for this point of view is that art subjects help children better appreciate the beauty of the world. If schools decided to exclude art from school syllabus, then pupils would be aware of neither the beauty nor idea standing behind beautiful pictures, songs, and theatre plays. Consequently, they would develop a sense of inferiority to those with a considerable knowledge of art. Let us take some students from the former USSR, who they had not been taught art at school. They found it unpleasantly difficult to answer the questions of art asked by students from the USA.

In conclusion, even though some teaches advocate that students should study both art and other subjects, I think art should be replaced by more significant subjects so graduates can easily find jobs