The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally.

What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

As the travel industry is thronging, English is getting to be the most widely spoken language all over the planet to the extent that it has led the world to believe that it would remain the only language to be used everywhere. This essay will throw light on its pros as well as its con.

There is no doubt that all the countries all over the globe are opening the door to their country to people who wish to visit their beautiful land and experience the rich culture that they are so proud off. Due to the very fact, numerous human beings from all walks of life, spend money in order to soak it all in. As a result, there remains a single link which enables the tourists to connect to one another in the form of English language which assists them in communicating their thoughts openly. Furthermore, this widely spoken language sometimes comes in handy while speaking to one another.

On the flip side, there is a clear disadvantage to this norm. Though, English is rapidly becoming the most acceptable language all over the world, it is also pulling people away from their own mother tongue. The truth is that English is being used so freely, the ones who are not using it, are being ridiculed for it. English is being used as a sign of status symbol whereby it is being believed that if an individual is not well-versed in the said language, they are not worth interacting with.

All things considered, English is going to play a major role in tourism for a long time to come, meanwhile it is also advisable to not get detached from one’s own mother tongue.