Increasing numbers of students are going to university instead of working after high school.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who do this.

A recent trend, where kids have been pursuing higher education post finishing their senior secondary education rather than picking up jobs, is being experienced. This trend can certainly be helpful in the long run, but not without its demerits.

First and the foremost, pupils who choose to study further right after completing their high school, tend to draw more focus on their studies as compared to their counterparts who decided to take a break and earn money for themselves. It assists them in fixating their concentration only on reviews, which in turn proves to be fruitful where they can score high marks in their studies and graduate with flying colours. Also, sometimes the students are given projects and assignments to complete, which are almost at par with certain real-life situations, and this can aid them in understanding and getting ready when they join a company.

In contrast, this trend also has its disadvantages. Knowledge gained from books and classrooms would only suffice to the maximum possible extent it would be helpful. In contrast, a job can impart specific life skills to an individual which no teacher or school can teach. While on the flip side, gaining work experience before initiating further studies, helps paint a clear picture of any possible plans a student might wish to endure. It can potentially make the career plans more clear and concise.

Hence, a student should consider both sides before choosing the streams widely as this is the stepping stone in their career, and this helps them determine whether they should process further in a field or not.